"Kraków in a Thousand Treasures"

Place Kraków, POLAND
Organizer International Cultural Centre in Cracow
More info http://mck.krakow.pl/ksiegarnia/krakow-in-a-thousand-treasures

Date of issue: 2018
Volume: 24 × 28 cm
Pages: 672

1000 treasures of Krakow at hand’s reach – the International Cultural Centre presents a monumental album that tells a new story of the city through the lens of the most valuable objects of material heritage from Krakow’s public, church, and private collections. This publication seeks to present a new narrative of the city that includes the most recent and often dynamically changing state of research on its history and tradition.

The ICC’s recent publication, titled Thousand Treasures of Krakow: History and Art is a result of more than three years of research inspired by the Municipality of Krakow. A team of acclaimed specialists, invited to work on this project by Professor Jacek Purchla, made a choice of the titular “treasures”, while results of their work made an exceptional publication that presents Krakow’s thousand-year-long history and its multicultural and complex identity.

The book is divided into 6 chronological chapters, each featuring two specialists. In each chapter, a historian defines the political, religious, economic, and social background of the era. An art historian, on the other hand, completes this picture with a synthesis of broadly understood artistic culture. Special role is played by 20 “capsules”, i.e. separate, independent texts on particular objects or examples of non-material heritage.

Publication of the book was sponsored by the Municipality of Krakow.

Scientific editors of the project Thousand Treasures of Krakow: Jacek Purchla, Joanna Ziętkiewicz-Kotz

Scientific board of the project Thousand Treasures of Krakow: Andrzej Betlej, Krzysztof J. Czyżewski, Stanisław Dziedzic, Łukasz Galusek, Marcin Fabiański, Kamila Follprecht, Karolina Grodziska, Michał Niezabitowski, Katarzyna Olesiak, Jacek Purchla (przewodniczący), abp Grzegorz Ryś, Krzysztof Stopka, ks. Jacek Urban, Marek Walczak, Agata Wąsowska-Pawlik, Joanna Ziętkiewicz-Kotz (sekretarz)

Editor-in-chief: Paulina Orłowska-Bańdo

Authors of chapters: Andrzej Chwalba, Krzysztof J. Czyżewski, Karolina Grodziska, Anna Król, Waldemar Łazuga, Michał Niezabitowski, Zdzisław Noga, Jacek Purchla, Krzysztof Stopka, Marek Walczak

Authors of capsules: Kamila Follprecht, Edyta Gawron, Mateusz Grzęda, Anna Król, Jakub Link-Lenczowski, Leszek Mazan, Michał Niezabitowski, Magdalena Oleszkiewicz, Karolina Pachla-Wojciechowska, Zdzisław Pietrzyk, Magdalena Piwocka, Elżbieta Pobiegły, Jacek Purchla, Andrzej Iwo Szoka, Janusz Wałek